WordPress Blogging University
Street Scene for Blogging University, Photo 101.

A not-so-famous actor on his deathbed allegedly said, “Dying is easy. Comedy is hard.”

Well, so is photography.

Today’s assignment reminded me of this. As did yesterday’s. As will tomorrow’s.

Today: Street scene. Think about foreground and background. Maybe try a different vantage point, several stories high.

Trying to get a good photo in a blinding snowstorm is difficult. Today’s street-level shot is missing the crucial element I was after — a bicyclist navigating the snow-covered street near Syracuse University, near the bike route sign. He rounded the corner at the same time as a city bus, and steadied himself by touching the side of the moving bus with his left hand.

How did I see this, but not capture it in a photo? Snow was in my eyes, my hands were freezing, my camera was in a pocket of my winter coat and by the time I retrieved it and turned it on, both cyclist and bus were long gone. I took comfort in the presence of a lowly pedestrian, put him/her in the frame with the bike route sign in the foreground, heaved a heavy sigh. . .

. . . and went indoors to shoot from the comfort of a 12-story window, where I took the photo below. As difficult as writing is, photography is harder. Now I have to go out and shovel my driveway. Again. Welcome to Syracuse.

Street Scene 2, WordPress Blogging University. Twelve stories high.
Street Scene 2, WordPress Blogging University. Twelve stories high.

 

Jim McKeever Avatar

Published by

14 responses to “WordPress Photo 101, Day 2: Street Scene”

  1. ksbeth Avatar

    i still like it. the street signs seem hilarious in light of the situation. good sacrifice for your art, jim )

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Jim McKeever Avatar
      Jim McKeever

      Thanks, Beth! It’s a non-stop winter wonderland here. How’s Michigan, my third-favorite state? 🙂

      Like

      1. ksbeth Avatar

        hah! well, it’s been uber-cold, but the snow has been pretty calm and pretty this year –

        Liked by 1 person

  2. dianasschwenk Avatar

    Capturing that cyclist would have been awesome Jim, but I still like the photo! ❤
    Diana xo

    Like

    1. Jim McKeever Avatar
      Jim McKeever

      Thanks, Diana — he must have been late for class, or just wanted to get out of the snow!

      Liked by 1 person

  3. markbialczak Avatar

    Nice perspective from ahigh, Jim. And your plan for the bike route and cyclist was perfect. Too bad the cold and snow foiled the execution. Dagnabbit. We were one block apart with our photographs today. I shot mine at 1:30 p.m. You snapped a bit later, I’m guessing …

    Like

    1. Jim McKeever Avatar
      Jim McKeever

      Yes I took them about 4 – 4:30, when the weather was getting interesting!

      Like

      1. markbialczak Avatar

        I could tell by the street conditions. Karen always hops on the highway from McBride to Midler, and said nobody went over 30 on the way home at 6 last night. So it was even dicier then. Oy to us.

        Liked by 1 person

  4. Smartcooky Avatar

    I love your narrative…It will be forever in my mind…the snow, the bicyclist, the hand on the bus. I admire your effort. I’m so happy to be in California. I will never let the weather give me an excuse to not go out shooting!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Jim McKeever Avatar
      Jim McKeever

      Thank you, Jennifer! And I enjoyed your imaginative treatments of “home” and “”street” as well. As for “water” today, I think it’s going to be snow or ice for me …

      Like

  5. clara@expatpartnersurvival.com Avatar

    Ha – this reminds me of my problems yesterday. I saw a nnice juxtaposition of a traffic warden, a post box and a grey squirrel. But of course they weren’t there when I came back later with a camera. Although the sqirrel reappeared but wouldn’t stay still. And the post box of course was static!

    Like

    1. Jim McKeever Avatar
      Jim McKeever

      Thanks for checking out the photo, Clara — there are so many submissions, it’s hard to look at everyone’s images. As for squirrels, we’ll have to wait for warmer weather here to see many of them!

      Like

      1. clara@expatpartnersurvival.com Avatar

        I know what you mean! I view as many as I have time for each day. It’s interesting to see how everyone interprets each theme differently. But there seem to be a lot of snowy scenes coming from the American contingent….

        Liked by 1 person

  6. cat9984 Avatar

    That picture at the top definitely evokes a strong emotional reaction. At least for those of us who live in cold climates.

    Like

Leave a comment